YouTube Star explains how the world really works!

About a year ago, I was studying for a Congress (Posc383) exam and I realized I didn’t fully understand Citizens United v. FEC (2010).  This was a BIG problem, considering the exam was tomorrow and I was mentally and physically exhausted.  So, I started searching YouTube for videos that explained the United States Supreme Court case.

Just when I was losing hope, I stumbled upon a video entitled “Story of Citizens United v. FEC, The Critique“.  This video provided a detailed explanation of Citizens United v. FEC (2010) and how that decision impacted campaign finance laws.

I was amazed at how he was able to take a complex court case and break it down to his audience.  I decided to look through the other content on his YouTube channel, and was hooked from that night.

Lee Doren started the YouTube Channel HowTheWorldWorks in 2008.  Since then he has created a domain to store all of his content.  He has a blog, podcast, YouTube Channel, and an ebook!  Click here to visit his website!  I got to talk with Lee earlier this week:

Why did you write Please Enroll Responsibly: Avoiding Indoctrination at College?

  • I used to get a lot of emails from parents and students talking about teachers and professors who were politically bias, and they didn’t know what to do.  I used to write really long email responses, and then I thought why not take all of these long responses and put them into an ebook.

How did HowTheWorldWorks start?

  • I always liked talking about politics and I just decided one day that I would upload some of videos with my political opinion.  Then I started getting some traction and I was able to develop and audience and even get some attention from Fox News, and CBS.

How do you decide what to talk about?

  • I find trending news stories and I give quick commentary on them.  I have also done video critics where I take liberal or left-leaning videos on YouTube, and I make a critique of them attempting to refute many of the claims in those videos.

You were once a liberal?

  • I used to work for an environmental lobbying organization, and I realized that many of the policies and programs that the environmental movement advocated often had really negative consequences.  So I realized after looking at the environmental programs, I was questioning the solutions that environmental movements push for.

Check out my favorite video post by Lee:

